January 18, 1975, was a red letter day for Clinical Biochemistry, when renowned clinical biochemists from all parts of the country resolved to establish the Association of Clinical Biochemists of India to promote improvement in the health and well-being of the communities it serves through improving the science and practice of Clinical Biochemistry.
  • By holding meetings, congress, seminars, symposia and otherwise to promote and advance the interest of Clinical Biochemistry.
  • To organize and establish institution / training centre for training Clinical Biochemists and to hold examinations and award diplomas.
  • To associate with International and National Organizations such as IFCC APFCB, INSA, NAMS, QCI, ICHA etc.
  • To advise Universities, Governments and Statutory Authorities regarding Biochemistry including Clinical Biochemistry.
  • To publish journal(s) related to Clinical Biochemistry and News bulletin covering Association activities.
  • To create awareness in community on importance of biochemical tests in preventive, curative and rehabilitative healthcare. This was followed by a two days conference in which Executive Committee members were elected and Professor Awadhesh Saran was installed as its First President and Dr. K. P. Sinha as its first Secretary. Since then Annual conferences have been held in various parts of the country.

The notable milestones of achievements

  • At the behest of the Association, the Medical Council of India recommended separation of Biochemistry Subject and the Department of Biochemistry from those of Physiology. Separate paper of Biochemistry was introduced at the 1st M.B.B.S. examination from 1977.
  • In 1977 it was resolved to start Quality Control programme to bring about improvement in laboratory services and a committee was constituted under Chairmanship of Dr. A.S. Kanagasabapathy. Dr. Kanagasabathy started the programme in 1978 from his department at C.M.C. Hospital, Vellore. Since then he has been sending Q.C. samples every month and gives a feed back to the participating laboratories. He started with only a dozen participating laboratories and today more than 1200 laboratories are participating in this programme. Dr. Kanagasabapathy received great help from his colleague, Dr. S. Swaminathan. This programme has brought about remarkable improvement in performance of laboratories. The cooperation given by C.M.C. authorities is highly appreciable. After Dr. Kanagasabapathy retired, Dr. S. Selvakumar Dr. Victoria Job, Dr. Geethanjali and now Dr. Pamela Christdoss have contributed to the growth of this programme.
  • The Association started publishing ACBI News Bulletin containing Association news twice annually since 1980. It is available on the ACBI website for reading and downloading.
  • The Indian Journal of Clinical Biochemistry, an official scientific publication, started coming out from 1990 under the Editorship of Dr. T.N. Pattabiraman. He gave a sound foundation for the Journal. Since then the Journal is serving as medium to publish work of our members as well as of others also. It is published four times in a year (January, April, July and October).
  • Members felt the need for in order to provide quality result to patient's investigations and an Accreditation Committee was formed under the convenorship of Dr. U. Satyanarayana in 1994 to frame rules and guidelines for voluntary accreditation. The committee did an excellent job in formulating the process of accreditation and decided to approach other sister laboratory departments to join hands. At this stage Department of Science and Technology, Government of India and its National Accreditation Board took up this work for all disciplines and adopted the guidelines prepared by ACBI.